Wednesday, September 21, 2022
HomeNewsHow To Get Your Roofing License In Florida

How To Get Your Roofing License In Florida

What Standards Should Your Roofing Contractor Follow

How to get a Roofing Contractor License in Florida

Whether you’re buying a phone or doing extensive home remodeling, it’s natural to worry about the fine print of warranties. This is also true when it comes to roof warranties.

Under Florida law, roofing contractors must have a license to perform any roofing work in Florida. Roofers are classified as Division II Contractors. A roofing contractor must hold one of two different types of licenses: certified contractor or registered contractor.

A “certified contractor” license permits a roofer to operate in all Florida counties and cities while a “registered contractor” license permits a roofer to operate in a specific city or county.

What Is A Contractor

A contractor is defined as a person who, for compensation, constructs, repairs, alters, remodels, adds to, demolishes, subtracts from, or improves, any building or structure, including related improvements to real estate. SeeFla. Stat § 489.105. In addition, the contractors scope of work must be substantially similar to the scope of work of a specific type of contractor , as described in one of the paragraphs of Section 489.105 of the Florida Statutes.

We Take The Guesswork Out Of The Licensure Process

Its easy to get confused and frustrated when dealing with state contractor licensing and local licensing laws. The time and attention needed to obtain a contractor license can be overwhelming. Often applicants have to prepare for the exam, maintain their current work schedule and juggle family obligations. Who has any time left over to prepare a lengthy application that requires assembling dozens of documents?

Also Check: Where To Buy Standing Seam Metal Roofing

Florida Roofing Contractor License

Florida Roofing contractors can legally repair, maintain, install, alter, extend, or design in contracts involving the following type of work:

  • Waterproofing
  • Roof-deck attachments that is required
  • Repair or Replacement of:
  • Wood roof sheathing
  • Fascia

Coating cannot be done when it is not represented to protect, stop leaks, waterproof, repair, or extend the life of the roof.

Get To Know The Licensing Requirements

How To Get Your Florida Roofing License!

You can apply for a Florida contractorâs license as an individual or as a qualifying business.

If you need licensure as a business, youâll first need to set up a business entity in the state of Florida. For a corporation, LLC, or partnership, youâll have to register with the Florida Division of Corporations. Small businesses will need to register with the Department of Revenue.

The licensing requirements for both state certification and registration include:

Youâll have to pay these licensing fees:

âCertified Contractors:
  • $149 if applying from September 1st of an odd year to April 30th of an even year
  • $249 if applying from May 1st of an even year to August 31st of an odd year
Registered Contractors:
  • $209 if applying from September 1st of an even year to April 30th of an odd year
  • $309 if applying from May 1st of an even year to August 31st of an odd year

Veterans can get a waiver for a fee exemption.

The licensing process usually takes about two to three months, depending on the available state exam dates. Licensed contractors can manage their licenses via the Departmentâs Licensing Portal.

Don’t Miss: How Often Should A Roof Be Replaced

Journeyman Certificate Of Competency

  • Requires three years of proven field experience in the trade or, education equivalent or a combination of the two, but not more than one-half consisting of education equivalent.
  • Requires submittal of an application to include proof of experience through letters from employers stating the dates of employment and description of work performed and submittal of W-2 tax documents covering the employment period.
  • Requires successfully passing an examination with a grade of 75% or above. Exam is open book and a list of the books is provided to you at the time you request an application.
  • Requires payment of $240

This license does not entitle you to perform as a contractor you may only work under the direction of a Master in your respective trade.

Pick Your Florida Roofing License Path

Before you become a construction contractor of any kind in Florida, youll need to make sure that you have 4 years of experience in the roofing trade with 1 year as a supervisor. Then you’ll need to determine the best path forward for your future business goals. For roofing professionals, this means deciding between becoming a Registered Contractor or a Certified Contractor.

In Florida, Certified Roofing Contractors can work anywhere in the state. Alternatively, you could opt to become a Registered Roofing Contractor. Registration is restricted to working within an individual county or city, meaning you can only work on projects in a specific jurisdiction.

The route you choose is totally up to you, and your ultimate goals should inform the decision. If you plan to run a small roofing construction business in your city, registration may be enough. But if youd like to grow a larger construction company that can work throughout the state, youll want to seek full certification. As a certified contractor you do not have to comply with each countys individual registration requirements. For example, if severe weather hits and you have your Roofing Contractor license, you will be able to mobilize your crew to the hard-hit areas in ANY county in the state!

Read Also: How To Negotiate Roof Replacement

Apply For & Schedule Your Exam

If you meet the basic requirements and feel prepared to nail the formal certification process, its time to get a contractor exam date up on the calendar. Throughout the year, there are six dates when the test will be administered:

Its important to plan in advance, because youll need to submit a completed application and processing fee to Professional Testing, Inc. at least 30 days before your intended exam date. Youll receive a registration receipt once your application has been processed and approved, and an admission slip 20-25 days before the exam. Hold onto both important documents and bring them on the day of the exam. Most exam sections will be completed using a computer program at an in-person Pearson Vue testing facility, located in:5

  • Orlando
  • Miami

How Do You Become A Roofing Contractor In Florida

How to get your Contractors License in Florida!! *Step by Step*

Reading Time: 6 minutes

The last two years, Florida was severely impacted with Hurricanes Mathew and Irma. The damage caused by these storms increase the need for roofers to repair storm damage. While Governor Scott issued an Emergency Order allowing general contractors the ability to repair roofs, there still was a shortage of licensed roofing contractors. As a result, many people are seeking to take advantage of this by becoming licensed roofers. Chapter 489, Florida Statutes and 61G4-12 through 23, Florida Administrative Code sets forth the requirements for an applicant to achieve initial licensure. In Florida, an individual is given a construction license rather than a corporation. Therefore, the individuals own experience and qualifications will determine if the license is granted or denied. This blog post will discuss the requirements for initial license of any individual who wants to become a certified roofing contractor in Florida.

You May Like: Where To Buy Cedar Roof Shingles

Licensing And Registration Fee Summary

The application fee for a certified general contractors license, separate from the exam fees, is as follows:

  • If all exam parts were passed prior to January 1, 2009: $409.
  • Applications sent after August 31, 2019: $309.
  • If any exam part was passed after January 1, 2009: $249.
  • Applications sent after August 31, 2019: $149.
  • The application fees for a registered general contractors license are as follows:

    • If applying between May 1 of an odd year through August 31st of an even year: $309.
    • If applying between September 1 of an even year through April 30 of an odd year: $209.

    Checks should be made payable to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

    Becoming A Certified General Contractor In Florida

    The Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board has some interesting rules about what you can and cant do without a contractors license, and its different in every county. For example, there are certain specialized tasks that can be done without a license, like installing a pre-built tool shed under 250 square feet, building a driveway, or laying down hardwood1. You do, however, need a state license to build a carport on said driveway, or put up drywall. Suffice to say, the list can get pretty confusing. As a general rule, Florida requires a statewide contractors license from anyone who does any of the following for compensation 2:

    • Constructs a building, structure, or add-on to an existing building or structure
    • Demolishes part or all of a building
    • Structurally alters load-bearing walls
    • Installs or services plumbing, air conditioning, or electrical units

    When all is said and done, youll need a Florida contractors license if you have any real interest in becoming a career contractor. You can apply as an individual or on behalf of a qualified business. So how do you actually acquire this coveted license? Well walk you through the requirements step-by-step as we build our way up to the beginning of your career as a general contractor.

    Also Check: How Often Do I Need To Replace My Roof

    Submit Your Florida Contractor License Application

    How to fill out your application:

    Please complete your application plainly in ink.

    Licensing Fees:

    Payments must be made in the form of personal or cashiers checks, and payable to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.

    Certified Contractor application fees:

    • $249 if applying in the period between May 1st of an even year and August 31st of an odd year.
    • $149 if applying in the period between September 1st of an odd year and April 30th of an even year.

    Registered Contractor application fees:

    • $309 if applying in the period between May 1st of an odd year and August 31st of an even year.
    • $209 if applying in the period between September 1st of an even year and April 30th of an odd year.

    Mailing Address:

    How Do I Prove My Roofing Experience To The Florida Contractor License Board

    How To Get Your Florida Roofing License!

    Be prepared to submit:

    • A description of your work experience and projects
    • Employment History
    • Contact Information of a qualifying contractor
    • The dates when your experience was gained

    For a complete look at how you will need to prove experience when applying to the Florida roofing contractor license, check out this resource.

    Read Also: How To Fix Car Roof Lining

    Construction Apprenticeships In Florida

    Whether you are looking to become a journeyman in Florida or begin a career as a roofing contractor, you will want to begin by mastering the trade.

    One of the best ways to build a solid foundation and position yourself as a professional in the construction industry is by looking into a roofing apprenticeship program or training course.

    These types of schools can provide you with valuable training in a variety of different trades including Electrical, Plumbing, Concrete, Landscaping, Painting, HVAC, Roofing, Solar, Carpentry, and

    much more!

    If you are one day looking to get the Florida General Contractor license, you will need to demonstrate a skillset beyond just construction. Learn about project management and other business skills.

    If you are new to the construction industry and have heard the term journeyman or apprentice and are not sure what these terms mean, or perhaps where to even start.

    Each state may have different requirements and standards for what is considered a roofing journeyman, check your state laws.

    To learn more about the step-by-step path from an Apprentice to Journeyman!

    Who Can Become A Contractor In Florida

    Tradespeople must meet the eligibility standards to apply for a general contractor license. You must:

    • Be 18 years of age or older
    • Have a Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number
    • Have a minimum of four years of work experience or a combination of education and work experience
    • Be financially stable

    Military experience and training may count towards the work experience and education requirement. Veterans are also eligible to have application fees waived, reimbursed, or discounted. The DBPR website contains up-to-date information on work/education requirements for Florida contractors.

    Don’t Miss: How To Fix Roof Tiles

    How To Get A Roofing License In Florida

    Getting a Roofer License in the Sunshine State

    The American dream of owning your own home may be a daunting challenge for new home buyers, but home purchases and building starts always seem to be rising. Millions of charming homes dot the landscape of the U.S. from sea to shining sea. Home styles of all kinds define the American way of life styles influenced by the many cultures who settled here with a yearning for a new start but a desire to bring a little bit of their motherland here with them. While there will never be any particular type of architecture that reflects Americana, one thing is in common about all houses here and everywhere a roof!

    Opportunities abound for men and women with a knack for building things and the thirst to pursue that American dream by becoming a roofing pro a livelihood that can be very fruitful! But it takes more than a knack for building and for managing a business to become a roofer at least in most states in the USA.

    Some states, as is the case with Florida, demand a roofing contractors license for statewide operations, or roofer certificate of completion for localized operations. Other states require something more general, using terminology like specialty contractor. This article will address some of the basics about how to get a roofing license in Florida.

    Licenses or Certifications Required to Be a Roofing Contractor in Florida

    County / District Registered

    When To Renew A Florida Contractors License

    How To Get A Roofing License In Florida | CraftJack

    Whether youre a certified contractor meaning you can work statewide or a registered contractor meaning you can work in the local jurisdiction in which youre registered you have to renew your license every two years. If youre a registered contractor, your renewal is due by August 31 of every odd-numbered year . If youre a certified contractor, renew by August 31 of every even-numbered year .

    Read Also: What Is Metal Roofing Called

    Who Needs To Have A Roofing Contractor License In Florida

    Anyone engaging in projects to:

    install, maintain, repair, alter, extend, or design and use materials and items used in the installation, maintenance, extension, and alteration of all kinds of roofing, waterproofing, and coating, except when coating is not represented to protect, repair, waterproof, stop leaks, or extend the life of the roof

    This also includes:

    • Repair or Replacement of Wood Roof Sheathing or Facia
    • Using various types of roofing materials including: asphalt, tar, sealants and felt
    • Installation of sheet metal, cornices and flashes
    • Estimating and Blueprint Reading

    A Roofing Contractor License is Typically necessary for projects that involve:

    • Pulling Building Permits

    Florida Roofing Contractor Classes

    You can take Roofing Contractor Classes in Tampa, Fort Myers, Orlando, Miami, or Online. You can sign up for your classes at any time and receive access to lecture videos, practice questions, tabbing and highlighting instructions, and step-by-step explanations on how to solve typical Roofing Contractor Exam Problems. The Roofing Contractor Classes prepare you for the trade and business exams. You must pass all exams before applying for the Roofing Contractorâs License in Florida. To sign up for the Florida Roofing Contractor classes, click on the “enroll” button below and checkout this will allow you to receive immediate access to the Florida Roofing Contractor Classes online and attend in-person Exam Prep classes. All students have access to online and in-person classes for an unlimited time . The in-person classes are not mandatory and can be taken at the student’s discretion. For a list of upcoming classes for the Florida Roofing Contractor Exams, click on the link within the course description below.

    • Login credentials emailed upon enrollment

      Unlimited access

      Lecture videos

      Step-by-step solutions to math problems

      In-person review

    • Login credentials emailed upon enrollment

      Unlimited access

      Lecture videos

      Step-by-step solutions to math problems

      In-person review

    Recommended Reading: How Long Does A Metal Roof Last

    How To Renew A Florida Contractors License

    Good news. The DBPR is pretty tech-savvy and they make it easy to renew your license online. Head to their online services portal and set up a username and password to get started. This brief document contains links to help you set up your account, link your license number, and more.

    When you log in to renew your license, be prepared to pay the renewal fee of $209, plus $50 per qualified business. But before you can renew, you have to complete a set number of continuing education hours.

    How To Obtain A Contractors License In Florida

    How To Get Your Florida Roofing License!

    Reading Time: 5 minutes

    A person is required to obtain a license to legally work as a contractor in Florida. Chapter 489 of the Florida Statutes and the Construction Industry Licensing Board sets forth the requirements for a person to obtain a contractors license in Florida, including the necessary application, education, experience, age, financial security, insurance, fees, and examination requirements. These requirements are rigorous and vary slightly depending on the type of contractors license. However, if a person fails to obtain a contractors license in Florida, he or she may be engaging in unlicensed contracting, which is a first-degree misdemeanor.

    You May Like: How Much Does It Cost To Fix Leak In Roof

    Business And Finance Exam

    This 6 hour and 30 minute, 120 question open book examination covers topics such as Establishing the Contracting Business, Managing Administrative Duties, Managing Trade Operations, Conducting Accounting Functions, Managing Human Resources, and complying with Government Regulations. For detailed Business & Finance examination content, .

    NOTE: Prior to beginning your computer-based exams, there is a 15 minute tutorial on how to use the computer system that DOES NOT count against your allotted time. To register for your examination, .

    Information

    RELATED ARTICLES

    Most Popular